Auntie Doris in the 21st Century #12: The Nigerian Banking Crisis.

image
I don’t suppose we’ll ever know the exact moment when the first Nigerian bank manager realised that he had a crisis on his hands. I suppose that banks all over the world have the problem of their customers dying with nobody to leave their money to. People get old, some of them have no children, some of those outlive their friends and relatives, and some of those are stinking rich. Nigerian bank managers must have come across it happening a few times in the past. But the problem in Nigeria is that since about 2007 this has seemed to be the case with literally hundreds and thousands of people. In fact it seems as though there is a plague causing the deaths rich heirless people in that particular region of Africa. The thing is that the Nigerian government just can’t be trusted. At least the bank managers of Nigeria can’t trust them. If it was left to the Nigerian government, they would take all the money that was left in the bank accounts of these dead millionaires for themselves, and probably spend it on ensuring that they could live in the lap of luxury. It’s only human nature for governments. That’s what the ruddy British government would do after all.
But just because the British government would do it, doesn’t make it right. Besides, as the Nigerian bank managers realised, if the government sucked all of the money out of their banks, then the whole financial system of Nigeria would collapse. And although Nigeria is just one nation, and is perhaps not as feted as America, Britain, Japan, Germany and other important countries in the World Financial markets. It is a cog in a delicate machine, and if the Nigerian financial system were to collapse, who could predict where it would end. At the very least, there would be an international double dip recession, which would involve galloping inflation, cantering unemployment, poverty doing the dressage, and an outbreak of people in red braces hanging themselves. This could not be allowed to happen. The Nigerian bank managers convened a meeting, upstairs in the Lagos branch of Wetherspoons to see what could be done.
For some unfathomable reason, one of them Nigerian bank managers must have heard of Auntie Doris. No only that, he must have seen me as a rare example of a human being that was above reproach (whatever that ruddy means when it’s all at home.) He must have seen me as someone who could be trusted. Trusted to save the world financial markets from the credit crunch and double dip depression.
The plan was simple. They would all email me, with greetings in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ, patron saint of moneylenders, and suggest that I told a little white lie. All I had to do was to say that I was related to all the dead Nigerian millionaires, and their money would be transferred into my account. I would be a millionaire a thousand times over. And more! All I would have to do was split the money with the Nigerian Banks, and everyone would be happy. World financial crisis averted, Nigerian Bank managers keep their jobs, and I am rich.
There was just one problem, I am dead. I don’t need money. I haven’t even got a bank account. And I promised my mother I would never tell a lie. (Actually, that is more than one problem… But you get my drift)
Sometimes when I see the world suffering with the financial crisis, I feel genuinely sorry. But what was a dead old lady to do?
3 thoughts on “Auntie Doris in the 21st Century #12: The Nigerian Banking Crisis.

  1. A good thing that you can’t touch that money, because you never know where some of those Nigerian bank notes have been. We don’t want all them foreign diseases and poverty contaminating the Brontes and all them other Yorkshire folk.

  2. LOL, Auntie Doris! You made my afternoon. Lucky you were no longer with us so no need to split that million of dollars with Nigerian bankers. As a Nigerian, still alive and who could use a bit of money to travel the world, I still would never collaborate with those managers. If I were to claim all the million $s of dead bank customers, I would be richer than the British Queen by now. But the truth is those emails were scams and are intended for people who want to get rich quick – not too surprising that some people fell for it.

    Thank you for sharing, a good read indeed!

  3. Thank you for appreciating it Folakemiodoaje, I must admit that whilst I was writing it, I was thinking about you, and worried that you might think I was having a go at Nigerians in general. So you can be sure that your appreciation of it has made my day too. All my best wishes, Auntie Doris… X

You are allowed to comment... I don't ruddy bite, you know...

