Auntie Doris’s Great Works of Art #4: Richard Hamilton – Just what is it that makes today’s homes so different, so appealing? 1956

It’s a funny ruddy work of art, this one. Its all bits cut out of magazines and stuck together to make a picture. It’s the sort of thing that we used get the kiddies to do in the school holidays in the days before they invented cheap toys and mobile telephones. They reckoned that it was a new kind of art. “Pop Art” they called it. But I’m not so sure. I wouldn’t have a front room like they’ve got in the picture. And I wouldn’t have that picture stuck up in my front room, thank you very much.
I’m not saying that I don’t like it. Its quite entertaining after a fashion, with that muscle man standing there in nothing but his underpants. And the way he’s got that tennis racquet (or is it a big lolly?) stuck in his hands is enough to bring a smile to anyone’s face, what with where he’s holding it and it having the word “pop” on the end of it. You can tell that old Richard Hamilton was a bit of a filthy so and so.
That lass lolling about on the settee isn’t leaving vey much to the imagination either. Although why she’s got a lampshade on her head, the Lord alone knows, I ruddy don’t. She obviously can’t be bothered to cook them both anything decent for dinner. It looks like they are going to have tinned ham and tiny little cups of tea. But at least they’ve got a woman around to vacuum the stairs.
I used to be a dab hand at cutting bits out of magazines and sticking them down. Only I didn’t call it “Pop Art” I called it a scrapbook. And I kept my scrapbook in the cupboard under the stairs, not hanging up in a ruddy art gallery.
I mainly used to cut out recipes and household hints from the “People’s Friend” but I used to stick pictures of the Royal Family in there too, if there were any good ones. They used to put good pictures of the Royal family in the women’s magazines back when Prince Charles and Princess Anne were kiddies. Him with his little tin cars and her with her ponies and whatnots, they were lovely kids. It’s a shame how they’ve turned out. Mind you, they all turn out for the worse these days. Look at my nephew Michael. He’s as bad as that Charles with his ruddy long words and his silly ideas. I don’t think either of them has ever put in a proper days work in their lives. But that’s the style these days. Our Michael might not be cutting pictures of dolly birds with lampshades on their heads out of magazines, but I bet he’s downloading them on that sodding computer of his, the filthy so and so. Men? They never ruddy change.
3 thoughts on “Auntie Doris’s Great Works of Art #4: Richard Hamilton – Just what is it that makes today’s homes so different, so appealing? 1956

  1. My Ma had a naughty lamp some joker gave as a wedding pressie, a mahogany like carving of a naked chap with a tea-towel over his tackle. (I am minding my language today) She only brought it out when our old great Aunts visited, hated that lamp she did My brother threw it out, but perhaps today it would be of value, Pop Art indeed.

You are allowed to comment... I don't ruddy bite, you know...

