Auntie Doris’s Book Club #3 “The Sisters Brothers” by Patrick DeWitt

imageIn my humble opinion “Paint Your Wagon” is one of the best films ever made. It is certainly the best film that Clint Eastwood ever made. I don’t normally hold with him and his “Filthy Harry” scratting around for dollars and messing about with monkeys and suchlike, but that’s just me. My Raymond used to love him. He even used to try and act like him sometimes, narrowing his eyes and mumbling under his breath. I used to tell him not to be so ruddy soft. He soon snapped out of it when I threatened him with a clout around the earhole.
Any road, this “Sisters Brothers” thing is a bit like “Paint your Wagon.” Only there’s no songs in it, and rather than have fist fights to settle their arguments, people tend to shoot each other in the face. But it is set in the Gold Rush in the Wild West, and it does focus on two rough and ready blokes, although, Charlie Sisters and his brother Eli, are a lot nastier than the blokes Lee Marvin and Clint Eastwood played in the film.
Eli is the Clint Eastwood character. He has a bit of romance in him, and a yearning for a more decent life, but you still wouldn’t want to get into a ruddy argument with him. Once he gets annoyed he will stick a bullet in your head as soon as look at you. The clever thing about the book is that even though he is a wicked, horrible, murderous so and so, you can’t help but have a soft spot for him. It’s funny that. They say that women are attracted to nasty blokes, but I never thought that I was like that. But it’s probably just because he’s in a book. I wouldn’t be very impressed if he appeared in real life, shot my Raymond in the face and tried to have carnal relations with me… At least I don’t think I would.
The brothers work for someone called the Commodore. I think that the character is based on a cross between him with the cat out of the James Bond films and Lionel Ritchie. Any road, he’s not in it much, but he’s the one who puts them up to all the bad stuff they get up to.
If you are an animal lover, then there’s plenty of stuff about horses in it , but I would skip the bit where one of them has his eye gouged out. It’s not exactly James Herriott, that bit.
It’s a good read though, even if you are like me and you don’t normally enjoy cowboy stories. It kept me entertained for a few hours, and sort of gave me a yearning to watch “Paint Your Wagon” again to remind me that not everyone in the Wild West was as horrible as the Sisters Brothers were. If you are interested, my Michael tells me that you can probably buy a copy on the Amazon for a penny, but then they’ll probably sting you with the postage and packing charges. Ruddy Cowboys!

One thought on “Auntie Doris’s Book Club #3 “The Sisters Brothers” by Patrick DeWitt

  1. Curious! I was just thinking about this book yesterday. Why? Beats me, that was yesterday!

    I read the book some time ago and did enjoy it immensely. I normally would have passed it by if I saw it on a library shelf. But I was going through a phase and reading only Canadian prize-winning novels and this was the only available title on my reader at the time.

    I LOVED the relationship between the protagonist and his horse. I must have sped-read over the part about the eye. Ick.

You are allowed to comment... I don't ruddy bite, you know...

