Auntie Doris: Life on the Other Side #1: On Death and Dying.

White Tunnel

No-one should be scared of death. There is absolutely nothing to be scared of whatsoever. Not a bit of it. I used to be scared of it before I died, but now I know what it is like, I think that it is one of the best things that has ever happened to me. Honestly!
But don’t go thinking that I am suggesting that you ought to go topping yourself or something. Or taking unnecessary risks, like fiddling with your phone at the filling station, or fiidling with your phone or your organs of increase whilst you are driving or crossing the road. That would just be stupid. Believe me. Life is a good thing too. And you are living it for a purpose. Really. All I am saying is don’t be scared when the time comes.
Of course, being scared of the process of dying is a different matter. Nobody wants to be in agony, that stands to reason. It isn’t pleasant to die screaming for the pain to stop, and writhing about like a ruddy lunatic. But not many people do actually die like that these days. Even if you have a nasty accident, the adrenaline kicks in more often than not and takes a lot of the pain away. So the chances of dying in agony are slim, and not worth getting uptight about.
Once you have stopped fretting about that, then all you have to worry about is leaving your loved ones behind. And of course, that is always sad. But believe me, there is no need to completely lose sight of them. You can watch over their progress from the other side for as long as you like. You can even subtly influence it. Or if there is someone that you have a particularly strong bond with, you might be able to contact them directly, like I did with my nephew Michael. You might not be able to forge a link with the person you thought you might, and it might not work out quite how you expected, but there is always that possibility.
All those people who you have left behind will be coming over to join you at some point in the future anyway. Meanwhile you will be renewing your acquaintance with the people who passed over before you. And plenty of them will be pleased to see you an’all. So you will soon feel at home.
When I passed over, I hardly felt a thing. Which was a relief, because I had tubes hanging out of every ruddy orifice, and needles pushed into so many bits of me I was like a pin cushion. I can remember thinking that it was a ruddy stupid idea to bring me grapes and Lucozade in my condition, and drifting in and out of sleep. I was feeling happy to have April May holding my hand, and feeling sad because she was crying. Then I saw a sort of tunnel appear above me, with a bright white light at the end of it. It was like I was looking up from the bottom of a deep well, and there were two faces looking over the edge at the top of it. The faces belonged to my mother, and my Sister Pearl. (My Raymond was ruddy well conspicuous by his absence)
Any road, I sort of floated up to them, and they seemed really glad to see me. And I suddenly felt really good, and all the tubes were gone, and I gave them both a hug, because I had missed them. And… Well… I’ll tell you what happened next tomorrow.

If you are or have been affected by any of the issues mentioned in “Auntie Doris, Life on the Other Side”, and would like to have your concerns plastered all over the ruddy internet for all and sundry to see, put a message in the comments below. An untrained, dead old lady will do her best to assist you.

You are allowed to comment... I don't ruddy bite, you know...

